AMCP Members Choose President Elect and Three New Members to Board of Directors

Alexandria, Va., March 17, 2015 — The Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy (AMCP) today announced the election of four members to the AMCP Board of Directors. The members will be sworn in on Thursday, April 9 at AMCP's 27th Annual Meeting & Expo in San Diego, California.

The Academy's President Elect for 2015-2016 is Babette Edgar, PharmD, MBA, FAMCP, a long-time AMCP member from Reisterstown, Md. She is co-founder and principal of BluePeak Advisors, where she advises health plans, pharmacy benefit managers and pharmaceutical companies on Medicare and managed care strategies, and operational and compliance issues. Previously, Edgar held executive positions in the PBM industry and served as director of the Division of Finance and Operations for the Medicare Drug Benefit Group at the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid. She has served on many AMCP committees and as a member of the Board of Directors from 2010 to 2012.

The other new members elected to the 2015-2017 AMCP Board of Directors are:

  • Treasurer James Marttila, PharmD, MBA, of Rochester, Minn. Marttila is director of pharmaceutical contracting and formulary management for the Mayo Clinic. He has served on various AMCP committees, including the Educational Affairs Committee and as chair of the Organizational Affairs Committee.
  • Director Lynn Nishida, RPh, of Happy Valley, Ore. Nishida is assistant vice president of consulting firm Solid Benefit Guidance. She was elected for a second term on the Board, and has served on various AMCP committees, including the Educational Affairs Committee and the Program Planning & Development Committee.
  • Director Cynthia Pigg, BSPharm, MHA, FAMCP, of Richmond, Va. Pigg is vice president of pharmacy at Gateway Health. She has served in various Academy leadership rolls, including as 2001-2002 AMCP President and as Executive Director of the Foundation for Managed Care Pharmacy from 2005 to 2010.

The new members will be joined by continuing members: Director James Kenney, RPh, MBA; Director Janeen McBride, RPh, MBA; Director Gary Owens, MD; Past President Dana McCormick, RPh; and Incoming President Raulo Frear, PharmD.

“This is an exciting time for the Academy, with our programs expanding to meet the needs of both our growing membership and managed care pharmacy’s growing role in patient care,” said AMCP Chief Executive Officer Edith A. Rosato, RPh, IOM. “These individuals will help guide AMCP as it carries out its strategic goals around such crucial issues as the management of specialty pharmaceuticals and the arrival of biosimilar therapies.”