AMCP & AMCP Foundation Recognize Outstanding Members at Annual Awards Dinner

For Immediate Release

Tampa, FL, April 3, 2014 — The Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy (AMCP) and the AMCP Foundation recognized more than a dozen distinguished members of the Academy for their significant contributions to AMCP, managed care pharmacy and the health care system. The honored members were announced Wednesday evening, April 2, at the Annual Awards Dinner of AMCP's 26th Annual Meeting & Expo in Tampa.
The prestigious AMCP Foundation Steven G. Avey Award for sustained, exemplary and distinguished service to the profession of managed care pharmacy was awarded to Dr. Sean Sullivan, Stergachis Family Professor and Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education at the University of Washington School of Pharmacy.
Dr. Sullivan was chosen for his many outstanding accomplishments, including service as director of the UW Pharmaceutical Outcomes Research and Policy Program; Co-Director of the University of Washington Centers for Comparative and Health Systems Effectiveness; author of more than 350 journal articles, book chapters, task force reports and government publications; and past chair of the AMCP Format Executive Committee responsible for the AMCP Format for Formulary Submissions.
"The Annual Awards Dinner is a celebration of achievement and commitment that represents the very best of the Academy and managed care pharmacy," said Edith A. Rosato, RPh, IOM, AMCP's CEO and Chairman of the AMCP Foundation. "The members recognized have made a positive and lasting impact on the practice of managed care pharmacy, contributing significantly to improvements in health care quality and affordability."
The other awards and their recipients are as follows:
  • The JMCP Award for Excellence was awarded to authors Dr. M. Michele Manos of the Viral Hepatitis Registry; Jeanne Darbinian, G. Thomas Ray, Valentina Shvackhko, and Dr. Charles Quesenberry of Kaiser Permanente Division of Research; and Jaime Rubin, Baris Denis, and Fulton Velez of Vertex Pharmaceuticals for their article, The Effect of Hepatitis C Treatment Response on Medical Costs: A Longitudinal Analysis in an Integrated Care Setting. It appeared in the July/August 2013 issue of the Journal. The article provides specific and detailed information on the impact of successful hepatitis C virus treatment from a health plan perspective  
  • The AMCP Fellow Designee Award recognizes sustained excellence in the pharmacy profession, including exceptional contributions, long term commitment and active participation in the Academy. Five individuals were inducted as Fellows: Steve Avey, former AMCP treasurer and president and AMCP Foundation executive director and currently Vice President for pharmacy for MedImpact; Dr. Diana I. Brixner, professor and chair of the Department of Pharmacotherapy at the University of Utah's College of Pharmacy and executive director of the university's Pharmacoptherapy Outcomes Research Center; Babette S. Edgar, principal, BluePeaks Advisors; Matthew P. Mitchell, Director of Pharmacy Services for SelectHealth, Salt Lake City; and, Dr. William K. Fleming, Segment Vice President for Humana Inc. and President, Humana Pharmacy Solutions  
  • The Grassroots Advocacy Award recognizes an individual or group responsible for significant activity around a grassroots cause. This year's winners are Dr. Marshal Abdullah, the Student Pharmacist Development Liaison for the California Pharmacists Association, and Dr. Caroline Atwood, Senior Account Manager of Client Services with OptumRx 
  • The AMCP Spirit of Volunteerism Award was awarded to Dr. Patrick Gleason for his work as Chair of JMCP's Editorial Advisory Board. The award recognizes a current AMCP Committee Member who has demonstrated exemplary and outstanding service to AMCP over the past year and has provided volunteer activities that resulted in successful and/or high-quality AMCP programs, projects or services for its members 
  • The AMCP Individual Contribution Award was awarded to John Strezewski for his service as an AMCP Diplomat for two universities, as well as president of the Midwest AMCP Affiliate 
  • The AMCP Distinguished Service Award was awarded to Marty Mattei for his tremendous contributions and support to AMCP over the years, including active membership on five AMCP committees, three of which he served as chair. Marty is Vice-President of Clinical Product Innovation and Strategy for MedImpact 
Honorable Mention for the JMCP Award for Excellence was awarded to Markov Model of the Cost-Effectiveness of Pharmacist Care for Diabetes in Prevention of Cardiovascular Diseases: Evidence from Kaiser Permanente Northern California, which appeared in the March 2013 issue of JMCP.
About AMCP  
The Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy (AMCP) is a national professional association of pharmacists and other health care practitioners who serve society by the application of sound medication management principles and strategies to improve health care for all. The Academy's nearly 7,000 members develop and provide a diversified range of clinical, educational and business management services and strategies on behalf of the more than 200 million Americans covered by a managed care pharmacy benefit. More news and information about the Academy can be found at
About the AMCP Foundation  
The AMCP Foundation, a 501(c)3 nonprofit corporation, is a research, education and philanthropic organization supporting the Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy (AMCP).Established in 1990 as the Foundation for Managed Care Pharmacy, the AMCP Foundation was created to support the research and education agenda of AMCP. The Foundation exists to advance collective knowledge and insights on major issues associated with the practice of pharmacy in managed health care settings.
For more information, please contact:
Kevin Bruns | 703-683-8416 ext. 656